Mongolian Beef (Instant Pot)

My grandma and grandpa got me an Instant Pot for Christmas.  I’ve been hearing about it for a couple of years but never pulled the trigger to purchase one.  I’ve always been happy with my crockpot (when I plan ahead, of course) so I didn’t think I needed another kitchen appliance.  I’ve used it twice and have been pleasantly surprised both times!

Make sure you know how to use the Instant Pot!  The first time we used it.. we were a little nervous!

I added broccoli and carrots to my Instant Pot.  When I make it again, I will steam the broccoli separate.  As you can see from the picture, the broccoli sort of went to mush. 🙂  The carrots held up well.

Serve over Jasmine rice.

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs. top sirloin or flank steak, trimmed of gristle and thinly sliced against graint
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp. ginger
  • 2 to 3 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup soy sauce
  • 1.5 cups brown sugar
  • 6 carrots, peeled and sliced.
  • 2 tbsp. corn starch
  • 3 tbsp. cold water
  • Green onions, chopped
  • Rice, cooked
  • Steamed Broccoli

Directions

  1. Brown/sear meat.  You can do this in the Instant Pot on the saute/brown/sear mode or on the stove, whatever you prefer.  Once pot is hot, add oil and brown meat in 2 to 3 batches.  Do not crowd.  Transfer meat to a plate when browned.
  2. Add garlic and ginger to pot and saute, while stirring, 1 minute.  Add water, soy sauce, and brown sugar.  Stir to combine.
  3. Add browned beef and sliced carrots.
  4. Make sure the valve is sealed and select manual, or the beef option. Set the timer for 12 minutes.
  5. When beep sounds, turn pressure cooker off and use the quick pressure release.  When valve drops carefully remove lid.
  6. Turn pot on again to brown/sear mode.
  7. In a small bowl combine the cornstarch and 3 tbsp. water, whisking until smooth.  Add cornstarch mixture to the sauce in the pot, stirring constantly.  Stir until sauce thickens.
  8. Serve over rice and steamed broccoli.

Delicious!!

Leave a comment