Cilantro Lime Chicken Enchilada Soup

This is pretty similar to a recipe that I’ve made before. I bought some Cilantro Lime Chicken Breast from Aldi and I couldn’t decide how to use it. I decided to throw it in this soup recipe… Excited to see how it turns out. Because the chicken is “flavored” there are some extra carbs that I wouldn’t typically include, however, I want to use this chicken. Excited that my friend Jeni is coming over to enjoy it! I am going to make some corn bread to go along with this soup!

The best part about this soup is you just dump it all in and let it cook for 8 hours.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5-2 lbs chicken breast (frozen or thaw) – I used Cilantro Lime Chicken Breast from Aldi
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 15 oz. can corn, undrained
  • 1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes and green chiles, undrained
  • 1 11 oz. can enchilada sauce
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 1 tsp chili powder (I used chipotle chili powder)
  • salt and pepper to taste

When the soup is done, and the chicken has bee shredded… You can add shredded cheese or crunchy tortilla strips for topping. Without the cheese, tortilla strips, and cornbread this soup has 8 servings and has 221 calories per serving.

Nutritional Information (8 servings)

  • Calories 221
  • Total Fat 5.1 g
  • Total Carbs 20.4 g
  • Protein 20.4 g

Leave a comment